Administrative Setup

General Administration

Varanasi division consists of four districts namely- Varanasi, Jaunpur, Gazipur and Chandauli, and is headed by the Divisional Commissioner of Varanasi. The Commissioner is the head of local government institutions in the division; is Incharge of infrastructure development in his division; and is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the division.

Varanasi district administration is headed by the District Magistrate of Varanasi. The DM is assisted by a Chief Development Officer (CDO), five Additional District Magistrates (ADM) (Finance/Revenue, City, Administration, Protocol, Civil Supply), one Chief Revenue Officer (CRO) one City Magistrate (CM), and four Additional City Magistrates (ACM).

The district is divided into 3 sub-divisions and 8 development blocks. Each sub-division headed by a Sub Divisional Magistrate.

Police Administration

Varanasi district comes under the Varanasi Police Zone and Varanasi Police Range. Varanasi Zone is headed by an Additional Director General(ADG), and the Varanasi Range is headed by Inspector General(IG).

The district police is headed by a Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP). Each of the several police circles is headed by a Circle Officer (CO) in the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police.